Our Blog

Ayurvedic Consultation Online from Our Ayurveda Experts

Experience the goodness of Ayurveda with our online Ayurvedic consultation option, you can connect video call with Deep Ayurveda experts from the comfort of your home.

Ayurveda and Doshas in Ayurveda – Vata, Pitta, Kaph Doshas

Ayurveda, is the art of living in harmony with nature. The term Ayurveda is taken from the Sanskrit word ‘Ayur’ , meaning life or lifespan. The word ‘Ayur’ literally means ‘life’ and ‘veda’, the ‘science’ or ‘knowledge’.


There are four Vedas or treatises that form the basis of the Indian medical philosophy. These are the Rigveda, the Yajurveda, the Samaveda and the Atharva Veda. Ayurveda emerged as a branch of Atharva Veda (one of the four most ancient books of Indian knowledge, wisdom and culture). It dates back to over five thousand years and is one of the world’s oldest and most complete systems of natural healing.

There are three doshas in Ayurveda: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.

People are generally thin and find it hard to gain weight, because of this; Vatas have very little energy reserve and can tire easily and get themselves out of balance.

People are generally of medium size and well proportioned. They have a medium amount of physical energy and stamina. Fire is a characteristic of Pitta.

People tend to have sturdy, heavy frames, providing a good reserve of physical strength and stamina. This strength gives Kaphas a natural resistance to disease and a generally positive outlook towards life.



:: Disclaimer ::
The sole purpose of these posts is to provide information about the tradition of health care & ayurveda. This information is not intended for use in the diagnosis, treatment, cure or prevention of any disease. If you have any serious acute or chronic health concern, please consult a trained health professional who can fully assess your needs and address them effectively. Check with your doctor before taking herbs or using essential oils when pregnant or nursing.

Leave a Reply